Loading Events

« All Events

When Conversation Turns to Suicide Online Training

September 27 @ 8:00 am 5:00 pm

When Conversation Turns to Suicide is a training for providers, peer supporters, family, friends and others in the community who want to build understanding, and develop skills to aid them in more effectively supporting others who might be struggling with suicidal thoughts. This training is rooted in the ‘Alternatives to Suicide’ approach and offers an alternative to more medicalized suicide prevention and related programs such as QPR, ASIST, and Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) that tend to emphasize largely ineffective and potentially harmful assessment and referral strategies. Participants in this training will explore:
♦Myths and misunderstandings related to suicide and how to help
♦The relationship of trauma, and losses of power and control to suicide
♦An alternative framework for support
♦Ways to share power in your supporter role
♦Ways to take care of yourself both before and after offering support
♦How to influence change in suicide prevention policies and beyond
These trainings have been made possible in part by the Colorado Office of Suicide Prevention, and will include trainer apprentices from our Colorado Alternatives to Suicide Train-the-Trainer program.
Class Options*: Applications are due by Friday, September 3rd, 2021. After September 3rd, applications will be accepted on a rolling basis until each session is full.
Option 1: Monday, September 27 & Tuesday,
September 28, 10am-6pm Eastern (9am-5pm
Central, 8am-4pm Mountain, 7am-3pm Pacific)
Click here to apply

Option 2: Monday, October 4 & Tuesday,
October 5, 11am-7pm Eastern (10am-6pm
Central, 9am-5pm Mountain, 8am-4pm Pacific)
Click here to apply

Option 3:Saturday, October 2 & Tuesday,
October 9, 10am-6pm Eastern (9am-5pm
Central, 8am-4pm Mountain, 7am-3pm Pacific)
Click here to apply

Option 4: Thursday, September 30 & Thursday,
October 7, 10am-6pm Eastern (9am-5pm
Central, 8am-4pm Mountain, 7am-3pm Pacific)
Click here to apply
en_USEnglish